After posting the First 50 inductees yesteday, I realized there was a major error in the inductee list.
According to the rules posted on the first day we started this project, and linked to in every post since:
Players become eligible 5 years after they have retired and are only eligible for 1 year.
Yet right there as the 32nd inductee was Alex Rodriguez, who only retired following the 2016 season – 3 ½ years ago. He does not become eligible for the HOI until after next season.
So – Arod’s induction is rescinded immediately and another player will be inducted in his place. That player will be announced tomorrow.
Meanwhile, Rodriguez is not completely shut out of the HOI. He has a chance at induction in December 2021 (of course if he is selected, then someone will have to be kicked out per the rules).
For some background on what this is, check out the introduction post here.